2020

2020

2020 1920 1277 Cantenac Brown

2020
A beautiful sensory parenthesis …


Harvest

2020 is a winemaker’s vintage. The ripeness is astounding, dark in color, the aromas are refined, complex and spicy, the tannins are elegant and sexy, with the sensation of a balanced power. It stands up to the challenge of the 2018 and 2019 vintages, with a pretty dash of supplementary freshness. 2020 is also an open window to the future.

Informations

Varietals
67% Cabernet Sauvignon
33% Merlot

Aging
French oak barrels
60% new oak barrels
40% one-year-old barrels

Harvest proportion
51% Château Cantenac Brown

Harvest dates
Merlots: Sept.10-11, Sept. 14-18, ending Sept. 21
Cabernet Franc: Sept. 21
Cabernet Sauvignon: Sept.24-25, Sept. 28-30

Year 2020

A new wind of enthusiasm blows across the team at Château Cantenac Brown with the arrival of “Famille Le Lous”. We thought of everything, from the vine to the bottle, using all methods possible to create one of the best wines of Margaux.

The vines awoke very early this year, in mid-March. After a beautiful beginning to Spring in the first weeks, even with some very heavy rain though June, the skies of the Médoc opened up to lovely periods of sunshine.

The Merlot and Cabernet took advantage of these windows to rapidly flower in the best conditions.

Particularly dry weather with several very hot days continued into mid-August where little spurts of rain allowed the vine to suffer slightly, and to jump start the ripening with a restrained hydration. In September, the wind accompanied the new heat wave in this last ripening phase, bringing about a unique concentration of the fruit.

Generous sun during the harvest did it’s work and therefore produced a beautiful vintage.

With a rather unusual grape composition, we had to be extremely vigilant in the last phase of ripening. The fermentation was conducted at temperatures from 4-5 degrees Celsius, much lower than normal in order to preserve the most from these magnificent fruit aromatics without over extracting the tannins.

2020 also marks the beginning of the blend of the the “Grand Cabernet Sauvignon” from the plateau of Margaux and the “Enclos de Cantenac Brown”

2020 is a winemaker’s vintage. The ripeness is astounding, dark in color, the aromas are refined, complex and spicy, the tannins are elegant and sexy, with the sensation of a balanced power. It stands up to the challenge of the 2018 and 2019 vintages, with a pretty dash of supplementary freshness. 2020 is also an open window to the future.

Privacy preferences

We use cookies to obtain anonymous site visitor statistics. For more information on our personal data protection policy, please visit the dedicated.

We use cookies for statistical purposes. By clicking on OK, you consent to their use. You can find out more and adjust your cookie settings manually.

2020

2020

2020 1920 1277 Château Cantenac Brown

Millésime 2020
Une parenthèse sensorielle …

Notes de dégustation

2020 est un millésime de vigneron. La maturité nous surprend, la couleur foncée, les arômes raffinés, complexes et épicés, les tanins élégants et racés, avec la sensation d’une puissance équilibrée. Il relève sans peine le défi lancé par les 2018 et 2019, avec une jolie pointe de fraîcheur supplémentaire. 2020 est aussi une fenêtre ouverte sur l’avenir.

Informations

Assemblage
67% Cabernet Sauvignon
33% Merlot

Élevage
Barriques de chêne français
60% en barriques neuves
40% en barriques d‘un an

Répartition de la récolte
51% Château Cantenac Brown

Dates des vendanges
Merlot : 10-11, 14-18, 21 Septembre
Cabernet Franc : 21 Septembre
Cabernet Sauvignon : 24-25, 28-30 Septembre

L’année 2020

Un vent nouveau plein d’enthousiasme souffle sur l’équipe du Château Cantenac Brown avec l’arrivée de la Famille Le Lous. Nous reprenons le processus point par point, de la taille à la bouteille, tous les moyens sont mis en œuvre avec l’ambition de forger l’un des tous meilleurs vins de Margaux.

La vigne se réveille très tôt, dès la mi-mars. Après de très belles semaines en début de printemps, des pluies régulières parfois très abondantes s’invitent dans le ciel du Médoc jusqu’à la mi-juin, entrecoupées cependant de belles périodes ensoleillées.La floraison des merlots comme des cabernets profite d’une de ces fenêtres pour se dérouler rapidement dans les meilleures conditions.

Un temps particulièrement sec avec quelques journées très chaudes s’installe ensuite jusqu’à la mi-août où de petites séquences de pluies permettent à la vigne de souffler un peu et de relancer la maturation avec une contrainte hydrique plus modérée. En septembre, le vent accompagnant une nouvelle vague de chaleur dans la dernière phase de maturation entraîne finalement une concentration inédite des baies de raisin.

Le soleil généreux au-dessus des vendanges a poursuivi ce travail et nous livre ainsi un très beau millésime qui a pour corollaire d’affaiblir les rendements. Avec une constitution plutôt atypique des raisins, il fallait encore réussir la dernière phase de transformation. Les fermentations ont ainsi été conduites à des températures 4 à 5°C plus basses qu’à l’habitude afin de préserver au maximum les magnifiques arômes de fruits sans exagérer la structure tannique.

2020 marque également l’entrée dans l’assemblage de grands cabernets sauvignons du plateau de Margaux et de l’enclos de Cantenac Brown.

2020 est un millésime de vigneron. La maturité nous surprend, la couleur foncée, les arômes raffinés, complexes et épicés, les tanins élégants et racés, avec la sensation d’une puissance équilibrée. Il relève sans peine le défi lancé par les 2018 et 2019, avec une jolie pointe de fraîcheur supplémentaire. 2020 est aussi une fenêtre ouverte sur l’avenir.

Logo Château Cantenac Brown

Préférences de confidentialité

Nous utilisons des cookies afin de réaliser des statistiques anonymisées de fréquentation de notre site. Pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de protection des données personnelles, vous pouvez consulter la page dédiée.

Nous utilisons des cookies à des fins statistiques. En cliquant sur OK, vous consentez à leur utilisation. Vous pouvez en savoir plus et paramétrer vos cookies manuellement.