Grand Cru Classé in 1855

At the beginning of the 19th century, John-Lewis Brown (1769-1851), bought a vineyard and designed in the village of Cantenac, a traditional Tudor style château, reminding him of his Scottish origins. His name is forever linked to the Grand Cru Classé. His grandson, John-Lewis Brown (1829-1890) esteemed animal painter and “Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur”, spent time there during his childhood.
In 1843, Mr. Gromard, banker, took over the estate. After the 1855 Grand Cru Classification, Louis Armand Lalande (1820-1894), Bordeaux winemerchant and owner of several estates in Médoc, extended the building. Surrounded by a remarkable British style park, Château Cantenac Brown is since then among the most original in Médoc.

In 2006, the Simon Halabi family has given new impetus to the estate with the ambition of raising it to the highest echelons.

José Sanfins presently manages Château Cantenac-Brown. He does his utmost to make the best of the magnificent terroir, lavishing the greatest of care on the soil and the vines, with great respect for the environment.
This meticulous attention to detail continues into the cellar, where everything possible is done to produce an exceptional wine.

Accueil

Grand Cru Classé en 1855

Au début du 19ème siècle, John-Lewis Brown (1769-1851), acquiert un domaine et choisit de faire construire sur la commune de Cantenac un château de style Renaissance anglaise (Tudor) qui lui rappellera ses origines écossaises. Son nom restera pour toujours attaché au Grand Cru Classé. Son petit fils, John-Lewis Brown (1829-1890), célèbre peintre animalier et Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, y a également séjourné dans son enfance.

En 1843, la propriété est cédée à M. Gromard, banquier de son état. C’est le négociant bordelais et propriétaire de plusieurs châteaux en Médoc, Louis Armand Lalande (1820-1894), qui agrandira et enrichira la bâtisse après le classement de 1855. Entourée par un remarquable parc à l’anglaise, la propriété est depuis lors parmi les plus originales du Médoc.

Depuis 2006, la famille Simon Halabi donne une nouvelle impulsion à ce Grand Cru Classé avec l’ambition de la hisser au plus haut niveau.

La direction du Château Cantenac-Brown est alors confiée à José Sanfins qui poursuivra la mise en valeur de son magnifique terroir par le plus grand respect du sol, de la vigne et de son environnement.

Cette ligne de conduite se prolongera au chai par un élevage précis au service d’un vin exceptionnel.